Woe is Me Wednesday (Or How to Begin to Declutter) – July 29 Edition

Help

If you learn nothing else about me, learn this: I am come from a long line of highly experienced pack rats. What is a pack rat you ask?  A highly sentimental fool who can’t part with anything… so we store it for a rainy day… or until we die and our kids can deal with it, whichever comes first.

But it actually took my parents months to go through all my grandmothers belongings after she passed so I’m trying to be better and go through things now and eliminate the clutter. This is so much easier said than done, mind you.

So today I consulted my Pinterest Boards, it is my Bible of sorts, and figured while hubby and son go off to do the Boy Scout thing in a few days that maybe, just maybe, I could begin organizing my home so it can be cleaner and friendlier and well, not so cluttered.

My problem is I never know where to start.  And once I get started I become overwhelmed.

And it doesn’t help that home has little storage, I mean EVERYTHING is open.  Outside of the hutch in my dining room, I have open shelves on a bunch of shelves in the back of the dining room, a glass coffee table in the living room, an open, glass shelved entertainment console the tv is on with 2 different style bookshelves in the back of the room and an open desk as well.  1 12″ x 12″ drawer in the entire living room (and that’s in a little telephone table next to the recliner).

So this is my goal – I’m going to try to declutter this room in the next week.  Let’s see if I can make this spectacle become spectacular on my way to organizational bliss.

Anyone out there have tips for areas with no true storage?  Help me!!!!

Leave a Reply

