Get Fit Friday

So I will admit – I’ve been a bad girl as since I’ve been on vacation I’ve been drinking a lot of soda.  I am a Dr. Pepper addict – but in all truth – I just love most beverages with carbonation. So much so that I have gained 4 pounds in the past week!

Today is the day that I am going to live up to the “Thin” part of my blog title and go for it. And it’s not like it’s coming out of left field, I had been reading about different eating habits that could assist in my journey to eating healthier.

So years ago – like in the nineties – I purchased the book “Sugar Busters” and never really got too far into reading it.  A week ago I picked it up off the shelf and began finding out about the weight loss program to see exactly how it worked and then I came to the part where I was hesitant about the program: NO WHITE POTATOES. This is a definite deal breaker because it’s not that I eat potatoes every day, but I love potatoes, I can’t not eat them. It’s easier to give up Dr. Pepper than any kind of beloved white potato.

As a person who was diagnosed during both pregnancies with gestational diabetes, it is something that I keep in mind now that a decade has passed since my oldest child has been born (in case you are not familiar, it is claimed that your chances of developing diabetes is greater when you have had diabetes when you are pregnant – and it can happen within 10 years). So low carb is the best option for me.

Which led me to look into a Paleo eating plan. But the more I look at this I am not sure if it is right for me either.  No one likes meat more than myself, but it has restrictions – such as no oatmeal and that – and I just am not sure I have it in me to eat eggs or a derivative every day for breakfast.

So yesterday I kept looking and today I’m going to the library to check out the book “The Skinny Rules” by Bob Harper.  I’m one of the few people in the world who has never watched “The Biggest Loser” but I think he is my mother’s favorite so I figured I’d give it a go.

So I’ll update you on if the advice I read is good and if it is able to help me lose the 65 lbs. I need to shed!

Leave a comment