My Weekend Getaway to Boston

Ever do that semi-wild and wacky road trip with a friend? Well, that was me the weekend of September 11 through September 13 when my friend and I, at her urging, got on a plane and headed to Boston to see the final concert of the US tour of One Direction.

Now let me give you a bit of backstory.  I know nothing of One Direction. My girl-child dislikes them, so my only reference to One Direction was their first song of That’s What Makes You Beautiful because I am that far behind with some of the current groups.

So I had less than a week to become versed in 1D music.  Well, I was lucky to finish listening to all the songs on their concert playlist the day we flew to Boston.

I have learned that going to Boston was probably the best place for me to go and see One Direction (however, getting to and from Gillette Stadium STINKS!!!  There is only 1 way to get their and 1 way to get back home and so you get stuck in like 3 miles of traffic that is just horrendous). Below is a photo my friend took on our return trip.

11216811_10204936102348587_2080478861919748474_n

 I felt bad as we missed the first opening act – Augustana – because of sightseeing, which was my idea.  I am a huge history buff and as it was my first time in the City of Boston (in 1990 I went on a trip to London with school and we had a layover in Boston, but I was never allowed to leave Logan airport), I had to see the city where the Revolutionary War began (yes, history geek is the proper term for someone like me, I am probably beyond a buff).  We saw a bunch of cool sites on our trolley ride and harbor cruise….

11137150_870165736372676_4435155269643301043_n

Ship in Boston Harbor.

11707936_870157533040163_1753048760243861323_o

Statue of Ted Williams outside Fenway Park (though a devout Yankees fan I appreciate the greats in baseball, Ted Williams is probably the greatest hitter).

11947953_870157839706799_7350217780486877341_oThe Old North Church that Paul Revere rode out on his (unsuccessful) midnight ride.

11999543_870157819706801_4015131736272976279_oPaul Revere’s Home – 16 kids, 2 bedrooms, need I say more?    12029627_870157746373475_8017543439966220874_o

The site of the Boston Massacre (only 5 people actually died)

Because my friend and I wanted to see the Old North Church and Paul Revere’s house, our trolley tour guide, Erik, told us it would take us 25 minutes to walk the entire Freedom Trail.  Well friends, let me inform you, it took about 1.5 hours just to walk not even half of it, as the church and home are about halfway on the trail.  We saw what we wanted to see, re-did the last 3 stops to get back to where we started and got to our rental car and drove to the hotel, got ready in a jiffy and then made our way to Gillette Stadium. Having gone to downtown Cleveland for dozens of events over the years, I was thinking that going to Foxboro would be a similar experience.  I was wrong (see above exit picture).

But as a person who really wasn’t totally familiar with their music, the members or anything… I really had a great time.  I was so self conscious that I wasn’t going to be “into” it enough for my friend (who just LOVES 1-D, despite just entering the world of being middle aged – it’s refreshing to see her perspective of just wanting the boys to be happy, I on the other hand found Liam to be rather cute while watching him at the concert – so what if I’m 20 years his senior – it could work). I really enjoyed the songs (so I’ll always be a sucker for peppy music) and left the show really not being able to listen to Girl Almighty enough times (seriously, this morning while typing up my blog posts I must have hit play on it about 6 times, and then it happened again at lunch).

12009731_10204936359395013_4917780444003789314_n 12004969_10204935990545792_6665662875994564939_n

My girl child finds me to be “gross” because I enjoyed this concert… but how could I not… good music (even in the rain), an awesome friend on a fabulous weekend adventure.  It was awesome.  And I can honestly say I haven’t stopped thinking about the trip since I came home.

So if you ever have an opportunity to jet away for a few days and escape life doing something you never thought you’d do… I say go for it – it could be one of the best adventures you ever have!

Have you ever had such a weekend?

9 thoughts on “My Weekend Getaway to Boston

  1. simplygiselle says:

    Living in the area I can agree there are just some places I REFUSE to see a concert and Gillette is one of them, the other is the center in Mansfield (the name changes so much who knows what it is called now). Other than that sounds like you had a good mini vaca and some great weather. The schooner picture that you posted, I was on just a few weekends ago, great fun. My daughter and I do last minute trips all the time, those can be the best – keep up the surprises- life is too short!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Becky says:

      You are right – life is short – but I think that is so cool that you were on the schooner in my shot! I love going to historic areas because there is so much to learn on top of what I have “book learned” in a history class or just from my own reading. You are very fortunate to live in such a great area – it’s beautiful – but you would definitely enjoy going to concerts more in my neck of the woods… initially when leaving traffic can be tough – but after about 10 minutes you have 5 expressways to get on to take you to whichever direction you need to go. So much nicer – though I didn’t realize this until Foxboro. It made me realize that home isn’t so bad.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    I actually like One Direction. What Makes Your Beautiful was the first rock song I remember bonding with my teenagge daughters over. I still love the song.
    Thank you for visiting my site and liking my guest author’s post about why blog followers can be bad. Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    Like

      • Becky says:

        Janice, first of all… I won’t hold the spelling error against you – you’re human and we all do it – and well, I love how technology autocorrects everything it seems BUT the words that are actually misspelled. LOL! Secondly – I wish I could bond with my daughter over One Direction – she refuses to like them – she hears me playing a song and initially thinks this is good (I can see it) then she asks suspiciously… who is singing this? This happened last night as I listened to the song they released yesterday – Infinity – if you hadn’t heard it, it’s great! Lastly – you had a lot of really good points with your blog – and I have felt that way (the I’ve put my heart and soul out there in words and no one liked it – did I choose poorly when picking my photo to go with the what I wrote – did I get to personal?) and I’ve learned you have to take the good with the bad – some days nobody is on, or it was okay but not enough to say – wow, I like this. It’s all a learning curve and your blog post should be a must read for everyone starting out (or even someone who has blogged for a while), but especially in the beginning when you’re getting the hang of writing and putting your feelings out there…. sometimes less is more. Now that I have rambled on for great lengths – thank you for checking out my blog!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

