Catching Up

Nothing like ringing in the New Year, and then suddenly the first Saturday it happened.  I was taking down Christmas and I slowly felt a cold coming on.  Don’t you hate that?

I woke up feeling great that day too.  I got up, went to my water walking class, felt at ease about my children being home alone and even sat in the hot tub with my friend for a few before heading home.

I felt so good afterwards that I invited my kids’ friends to come over and spend the afternoon.  Like for 4-plus hours.

They were here when I felt it.  The strange feeling in my throat.  That run-down feeling you get from trying to push through.  I was determined to push through darn it!

I went to bed with several different essential oils in my diffuser along with a cool mist humidifier at the end of my bed.  Two nights I did that.  Two nights.

By Monday evening the stuffy nose was finally beginning to catch up with me. I was okay as long as I was sitting up.  So I arranged my pillows hoping that I would be able to maintain breathing through my nose.  My pillows appeared like a nest in my bed, but I was confident that I would be able to breathe all night long.

And that’s when I woke up with barely a voice.  All the congestion slowly oozed down into my chest.

As a person who has asthma I could feel my chest tightening.  Oddly as a person who has been healthy for over a year, it’s amazing how much I hated having the tight feeling.

But a co-worker told me what she did when she last had a bad cold and it worked for her.  I went home that day at lunch and did what she did suggested.  Her final words to me were “I hope you don’t hurl”.  I was confident as I am not much of a “thrower-upper” but I could understand what she was talking about.  When it was in my mouth, it really didn’t taste that bad.  Going down it was okay too.  I was thinking… wow, this isn’t bad at all.

And then the apple cider vinegar hit my stomach.

00036800403178_full

I see why she warned me.  I didn’t get sick, but I can say that it helped (glad I opted to eat my lunch AFTER I ingested the vinegar). Did I take it again?  No.  But where I had no voice in the morning, I had one in the afternoon.

Would I take it again?  If the situation called for it.  Now I didn’t take any fancy brand… it was Food Club’s Apple Cider Vinegar.  Nothing organic, what I had in my cupboard for cooking.  Most will take it with hot water, lemon and honey.  I poured it into a tablespoon (literally, I got a measuring spoon out, filled it up) and chugged.  It tasted like apple cider (shocker) with a kick.

I’m still dealing with latent sniffles and the occasional coughing fit (oh, I so love those!) but compared to my usual span of being really sick for weeks, I’m way ahead of schedule.

Best part – turns out this was something my Grandma would have done, my mother informed me when I told her what I did a few days later.  “Anna Maria lives” was her exact quote.  It made me grin from ear to ear!

Leave a Reply

