My Pressure Cooker

This year for Christmas my mother gave me an incredibly awesome gift – an electric pressure cooker.  I thought it was great – she finally got me something I’d hinted at her getting me and was so excited.  She doesn’t recall my ever asking for one.

But it doesn’t matter as now I have one!!!!

And best of all, hubby loves it too. And we have made both old recipes and new recipes using this delightful contraption.  Of course, most of his recipes have included barbecue, though he did make 1 recipe that boy child like that included pork chops being made with some sort of teriyaki sauce and though it was good… that particular day I sat around thinking about how good fried pork chops were going to be for dinner that night and it was a HUGE letdown (girl child felt the same).  We love our fried pork chops, and these were the type of pork chops with the bone in them that simply screamed “FRY ME”.

But I digress, as today is all about the pressure cooker.

So last Monday I took the day off as it was President’s Day.  I love President’s Day and of all the Monday holidays, it is one of several that I still have to work at my job and I will often take the day off so I can enjoy it with my kids.  I think having a February birthday I was always accustomed to getting a day off around my birthday – and feel that it is a custom that I should still enjoy – and so I use a vacation day now for President’s Day… it just makes all things right with the world.

Anyhow… so last Monday I took the day off – and decided I needed to use some hamburger that I had yet to break up and put in the freezer so I made a recipe I found on Pinterest… and it was really good… it was a recipe for Mexican Beef Rice.  It was recommended to be made as a lettuce wrap, I just plopped it on a plate and served with cheesy rolls (similar to those you can purchase from a poppy-colored crustacean).  It was a 1-pot meal and only took about 30-40 minutes total to make – I liked that… because that means I could actually make it on a regular work night.

Pressure-Cooker-Mexican-Beef-Rice-5VT

The first recipe I made used Italian sausage and it was sooooo good.  It was Pressure Cooker Sausage & Peppers and was extremely tasty.  It made the kitchen smell heavenly and face it, isn’t that one of the best parts of eating a good meal, is how good it smells when you are cooking it?  It too was extremely easy to make and it only took about 40 minutes or so (well, I’m lying, it took me longer to make, but it was my first time using my pressure cooker and I was afraid I was going to blow my house up).

Teris-Sausage-And-Peppers-2-Pressure-Cooking-Today

Now the above picture isn’t exactly what the meal looks like, the person who made the above thought the pictures would look pretty with small peppers in it, and you cut the peppers up when you are cooking it.  The sauce was really good and it made yummy sandwiches… definitely a meal to have again.

Oh and pressure cookers are safe – I have yet to blow anything up and all has gone well with my using it.  The meat is so tender and that alone is a great perk of the machine.  I am so happy that I got this as a gift – and I so enjoy making new things with it.  You can click here if you are interested in checking out the many recipes I have pinned specifically for pressure cookers (yes, they have their own board!).

If you have a favorite recipe that you cook with a pressure cooker, I would love for you to share it with me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

