My Weekend Challenge

So with all the bad that has happened in our house this summer, I was really hoping something good would happen.

Bwahahahahahahhahhahahhahahahaha!

That is the best I can do with a sinister laugh in the blogosphere.

The Noise

Friday when I got home from work the air conditioning was making a horrendous noise (you just know something bad is coming don’t you?  Can’t you just feel that something horrible is going to happen?).  My hubby, who had been painting my parents kitchen and dining room was promptly texted “how much longer do you think you will be, the AC is making a horrible noise” (yes I really text that way, I just can’t type out in cutesy little words and such like most texters, I use complete sentences and try to be as accurate as possible with grammar and punctuation – yes, I deserve your eye roll).

He comes home, hears the noise and goes down to try to figure it all out.  After trying to electrocute himself (I believe it’s over 200 volts of power with an AC – I suddenly began hearing an “ow”, “ow” being repeated so I ran into the living room, turned off the AC and went downstairs to see what was wrong.  Yes, he’d somehow zapped himself.

The Diagnosis

It was determined on the back side of the furnace, the part we don’t really see because it’s on the side we wouldn’t see if we were looking at it, there was extra water leaking from one side as a drainage system wasn’t properly put in place.  The excess condensation would overflow, hitting the blower motor of the furnace (this would be the part that pushes all the cool air so it comes out our vents, the same piece that blows warm air out of the vents during the winter).  So he designed a contraption, made of pipe to connect to where the extra water was leaking from and made it flow to the drain.

We weren’t sure how well this was going to fix the noise and apparently some rust appeared to be building up on the motor, but hubby was optimistic.

My Reason of Worry

I became panicked simply because this weekend was to be a hot weekend.  Yesterday’s temps were in the upper 80’s.  Today the temps are to be in the 90’s.  Knowing this information on Friday, I was alarmed because in the past I had broken the air conditioner on a 95 degree day (not really one of my highest points in life).

Our neighbors have this horrible ivy that overtakes our yard every year (did you get that, EVERY YEAR) and I hate it.  It presently is wrapped around my plants and such and one such year hubby had left it wrap itself all around the air conditioner.  As he was working a job that required him to work most Sundays, I went out, fit to be tied and began yanking at the ivy.

Only I got more than I bargained for when I went outside and yanked around the air conditioner.  Apparently when yanking on one of the stems, I yanked on a wire as well and there went the air conditioner.

It was about 11:30am.  Hubby worked until 6pm.

It was a REALLY. LONG. DAY.

I no longer touch the ivy.  Even though it is strangling my plants as I type this, I don’t touch the ivy.  I get all worked up and bad things happen.

I now yell at hubby and he messes with the ivy.

Mind you he can fix just about anything.  And he fixed the air conditioner within about 30 minutes of being home.  He is good like that.

Saturday

So Saturday came, around 11:30am the air conditioner finally came on (with only being guaranteed the 1 income presently, coupled with me not handling life without AC as I don’t take the heat well at all, I have the temperature sent for 78 presently, it use to be around 75).

Occasionally we would hear a screech here and there from the unit, but compared to the day before it was nothing.  10 minutes of quiet, maybe 10 seconds of screech.  I was optimistic on future rounds of it running that all would be well… and so it kept going with very little noise…. and that’s how it was when we left to go do our final walk for the Spree for All.

It took some convincing by around 2:30 I finally got the kids out the door and we went and completed our final walk and received our pins.

Afterward we went to my parents house to see what the new and improved kitchen looked like.  Is it sad I still miss the old kitchen, and old kitchen has been gone for at least 16 years.  My mom loves it and it does look nice.  But some day when I get rich and famous, people will be mad that my childhood home looks nothing like what it did when I lived there and they will want the avocado green tile and maize colored stove and refrigerator, just you see.

The Hum

So when we got home I didn’t notice it right away but when it sounded like the air conditioner tried to come on, it was just this loud, horrible hum.

Hoping that it was simply a need for fresh batteries in the thermostat I rushed around the house searching for triple A batteries as I knew I had 2 packs somewhere.  Could I find them, heck no!

I finally found 2 but no luck.  The air conditioner was toast.

I sent a text to hubby who is umpiring a tournament all weekend and he found it around 6:30 as he got in his car to head home.

The motor froze up.  To quote an article I found online… “it has been seized”.  Doesn’t that sound lovely?

Here I Come to Save the Day

So we have this window air conditioner in our attic.  When I was an avid scrapper and took the time out of my busy life to scrapbook on Friday evenings (sadly, my mom’s friend ran this neat website, and when she closed it down, there went my scrapbooking too), in the summer months I used an AC unit up there to keep it cool.  Since I haven’t scrapped for a few years, and it’s not like we could really afford the extra expense of running this unit, it has stayed in one of the eaves of the attic, stored away for whenever it was needed.

Well, the window air conditioner is saving the day and is presently located in the living room so at least the main room of the house can be cool.

WindowAC

The basement is pretty cool as well, and there is this ancient looking air conditioning unit down there.  We never really use it except for days when I pull the wiring out of the fan that helps the AC run, or when the motor decides to become “seized”.

Sherbet Coolers

When I was a little girl, there was a football field between my house and a Friendly’s, and one of the things my friend Pam and I use to do when it got hot was head to Friendly’s and get one of their Orange Sherbet Coolers. Never was a drink so quenching and refreshing as this.

Since everything can be found on Pinterest, I did a search last night and low and behold I found a blog post that gave both an easy and authentic recipe to make this marvelous beverage. So today I shall go to the store and purchase the needed items (orange sherbet and orange soda for the easy recipe, soda water and vanilla syrup for the authentic recipe) and I’ll make both to see which I prefer.  I may have to make the vanilla syrup but I found a recipe on Pinterest that is a copycat for what Starbucks uses and looks really easy to make.  Here is the link to the Sherbet Cooler recipe, and I trust it as the author claims they worked at Friendly’s.  Works for me!!!!

The Blimp

On top of all this my son needed new shoes so when we went to get him a pair last night (his old ones purchased last August were apparently feeling tight) we were lucky enough to see one of the new blimps in the sky above the store.

GoodyearBlimp

The new ones aren’t the same.  They don’t make the whirly sound the old blimps did.  Very disappointing.  But they are majestic flying in the sky regardless.

I say this sounding like an old pro at blimps and it’s not that I’m super-knowledgeable about how they work, I just live in Akron, Ohio where the blimps are made.  For years we have always had at least 1 blimp docked here for whatever reason, I know last year they sent them all out to other places so we haven’t really seen one as often, but it made me happy to see one last night as it was the first time in almost a year that I saw one. It’s amazing how you can miss something when it’s no longer there.

Anyhow – that’s my weekend.  I hope your weekend is going much better than mine.  I’ll update you when our AC is once again working.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the place not far from our house where hubby purchased something for the furnace 10 years ago has the part we need.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Weekend Challenge

  1. cahall63 says:

    Hope you get the AC fixed soon!

    We went through that a couple weeks ago, and were very thankful for the old window unit that we had kept in the garage. I don’t do hot well either, so I completely understand.

    Like

  2. Becky says:

    We did get it fixed on Monday! It took almost all day but hubby found some company who had the blow motor in stock and went and paid for it and had it all installed by the time I arrived home from work. Now he just needs to clean up his mess in the basement because it’s right smack in the middle of my laundry area (sadly, my washing machine is in one room and about 3 steps away in a different room, across from the furnace, is my dryer, and his mess is right smack in between both machines).

    Thank you so much for commenting and I hope you have a fabulous weekend!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

