Days 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8

happinessgratitude

So I fell behind last week on Day 3 as my daughter was using my computer for her homework.  Day 4 had me up in the attic scrapbooking, my first time in over a year.  Day 5 had me hiking all day with the family – 3 hikes actually, 2 new for hubby and I, 1 repeat for the kids to catch up; followed by a surprise birthday for my husband’s grandfather.  Day 6 had us hiking another new hike while we then had dinner at my parents house for my sisters birthday. Day 7 I was in the midst of a migraine that began at 10:30am and didn’t leave until around noon today.

So I guess you could say I have some catching up to do.

So for Day 3 – I am grateful for technology which allowed my sweet girl the opportunity to do research and complete notes for her class by turning on a computer and heading to her teacher’s website.  This same technology is what gives me the opportunity to write this blog.  Technology changes the way we live each and every day – often for the better, sometimes not so much.

Day 4 – I’m grateful for friendship and the choices my children have made in finding a wonderful set of people to be friends with this year.  My son has always yearned to have good buddy and this year, starting a new school, changed his world.  My daughter, who just loves to be liked, seems to have overcome some obstacles and found good, solid girls who she can confide in.

Day 5 – the Summit County Metro Parks and the awesome trails we have here and their incredible hiking spree that is in it’s 52nd year.  This is my fifth year in completing the hiking spree.  I say 5th as I only have 1 hike left that I have to do and I know I will get it done before November 30.  Each year to get a shield for the hiking spree you have to hike 8 different trails.  I love to hike – it’s my favorite way to exercise and this past weekend you couldn’t have asked for better weather – sunny and 65 – perfect!

Day 6 – Thankful for my kids not being too big to give me tons of cuddles!

Day 7 – Thankful that there was only one day left to watch really awful election commercials and that hopefully the mudslinging will all disappear within 2 days.

Day 8 – Grateful for the right to vote.  So many countries do not have this freedom, and though this year didn’t give me a candidate that I felt very passionate about – I went out and exercised my right to vote in this all-important year.

What are you grateful for?  Hopefully I’ll have another update tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

