The Best Ever Quote

Best Project Ever

While seeking out motivational quotes on Pinterest tonight, this quote stood out to me like lightning bolts from the sky.  How can you not like it?  It is just the best quote ever!

I mean EVER!

As with most of the world, I began 2017 with a goal of losing weight.  Yes, it’s a topic I’ve touched on (I think groaned on is a better way of describing it) from time to time.  I am overweight, and I really need to do something about it.  But I think one of my biggest issues is that I attempt to lose weight for all the wrong reasons.  I think it’s to be healthier, and I truly wish to feel better, but it’s also so I can look as good as one of my friends who lost like 60 pounds a couple of years ago and looks phenomenal.

But that carrot isn’t enough of an enticement to have me stick to exercising each day (could it be because I dislike carrots – and most everything else that is orange?). Another problem is I start off eating okay – but then I succumb to temptation with hardly any fight.  It’s like I am waving the white flag before the said temptation even makes any demands.

So I keep trying to find motivation.

One way was by re-installing my tracker that my mom bought me a couple of years ago from Sparkpeople.  I love my Sparkpeople tracker – but while in the midst of re-loading it onto my computer, it turned out that the company that created the sync-er was going out of business so their tracker wasn’t going to work anymore (okay – sidebar – I am still wrapping my head around this – for all the time I used my tracker – it synced fine – but why if the business decided to go under does it mean that my tracker is no longer going to work?  I just don’t get it.  Wouldn’t my sync-er still sync?).  What was worse was that even though the last day for my tracker to work was February 21 – it wouldn’t let me complete the re-installation of my tracker.  Nothing.

So I signed up to get the $10 gift card they offered to those with Sparkpeople trackers so they could purchase a new one.  I had to wait until February 13 – and when I got it I purchased a new tracker right away.  Cost me all the way to $8 additional dollars (including shipping) because I had seen this one when I was checking out the store on My Fitness Pal – and they had a Jawbone UP Move.  It is very simple to use.  It tracks my steps and my sleep.  No flights of steps like my mothers FitBit, just steps (which is what my Sparkpeople did – however it was waterproof too – which worked great for the Water Fitness classes I loved to take at our local Natatorium, but we aren’t members presently so I guess I’m not missing out on anything).

My goal is 6,500 steps a day.  I think I’ve done it twice in the almost month I’ve had the device.  Having an office job is a struggle at times as it’s difficult remembering to get up and walk around at least every hour on the hour (if not more frequently).  I do what I can – but I can honestly say that makes a huge difference.

I’m trying to exercise more regularly too.  I started doing Leslie Sansone’s Walk It Off In 30 Days DVD where you Walk 30 (30 minutes of cardio exercise of walking) and Firm 30 (30 minutes of strength training).  Last week the pain got me good.  But I slacked off by the weekend.  This week I’m determined to last – and so I began my 30 days this past Monday.  I will do it!

But it all starts with a beginning.  It is all a series of baby steps.  It’s all about making good choices.  And today my choice is simple:  The best project I’ll ever work on is me (well, and my kids too).

Let’s motivate each other one day at a time!

 

Leave a Reply

