Family Tree Puzzle: Where Did That Relative Come From???

So as I have mentioned previously, I am working on my family tree, using the free online website of Family Search to track all my ancestors.  I have thoroughly enjoyed myself as I have learned so much about family members that I never knew existed, both near and far in my lineage.

The bad part of using a public forum for this is because you sometimes find people suddenly on your family tree that don’t belong there.  And I find it really aggravating.

FamilyTreeWhereDidTheyComeFrom

Case in point, I have 3 ancestors with the same name… Andrew Jackson Blair. And with the Andrew Jackson Blair who is my great grandfather – someone has added another Andrew into the mix – an Andrew Sloan Blair – which I know is incorrect.  Why?  I doubt my great great grandfather (also an Andrew Jackson Blair) and great great grandmother would name 2 sons within 4 years of each other, Andrew.  Secondly, Andrew Sloan Blair was born within 4 months of another relative. I don’t see that being possible, do you?

What’s worse is that I even took the time to figure out who Andrew Sloan Blair’s ancestors were and messaged the person who has attached their person to my relatives.  I received a reply a week or so later telling me that they appreciated my work and that they would clean up their tree.

But Andrew Sloan is still there.

I honestly don’t think there is a way for me to remove him from my family tree, so for the time being live with him I must.

However, that hasn’t stopped me from looking into software so I can do my own family tree and slowly build it with what I have found.

I’ll still use Family Search and Ancestry to research, but I prefer to double and triple check to make sure an ancestor is truly mine.  I latched onto an ancestor that was already listed in Family Search the other day and was really excited because somehow when clicking back to see what country my family members began in – it had me related to Charlemagne (he is my great x 39 grandfather).  I’ll admit, I was blown away – until when I began looking through the various people who were between me and Charlemagne, ended up having mothers that gave birth at age 4. So close to royalty.

So if you work on your family history – is there a software that you recommend?  Share with me as I begin my research!  Thank you in advance!

One thought on “Family Tree Puzzle: Where Did That Relative Come From???

  1. chmjr2 says:

    My own uneducated opinion is that almost any of the top commercial brands will do. Without too much effort you can find comparisons to help guide you. Then I say pick the one that seems best for you and then use it. It will take time to learn all the whistles and bells but it will be well worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

